Day 14 (ish)

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Today would be my last day in Arizona.  From my campground, I headed up to Incinerator Ridge on Mount Lemmon.  I wasn’t expecting to add much up here, but a few more looks at Arizona mountain birds would be nice.  I saw a few good birds here like Grace’s Warbler and loads more Yellow-Eyed Juncos, but I was able to add a Violet-Green Swallow to my list.

#400 Violet-Green Swallow

It was time to head down the mountain and leave Arizona.  I think, at this point, I’m done birding Arizona for a while.  I’ve gotten pretty much all the needed species with a few exceptions (Gilded Flicker being the biggest need).  I think birding another state will now give me better outcomes.

On to California.

Before I left, I did pick up one new mammal, the Harris Antelope Squirrel.  They were running back and forth across the highway for a good park of the trip.

First stop in California was the Salton Sea.  It’s a good birding spot – when it’s not 109 degrees outside.  Holy shit.  This sucked.  First off, the GPS, when you try to go to the Sonny Bono NWR, leads you to a field with no trespassing signs all around it.  Good job!  I finally got to the NWR after nearly an hour of wandering around and backtracking my paths.  Goal here was one stupid bird, the Yellow-Footed Gull.  It was about a half-a-mile hike to get to the gulls.  I was drenched with sweat when I got there.  My eyes were burning from the salt.  It took some looking, but I finally found them as well as a few California Gulls.

#401 Yellow-Footed Gull

#402 California Gull

Time to get out of Dodge.

From here, I headed on in to San Diego.  Good birds here.  Last year on my trip here I went to La Jolla Cove, where I promptly has a panic attack from how crowded it was.  Also, it was a punch in my humility button how unattractive I felt among the SoCal beautiful people.  This year. I went again.  No panic attack this time thankfully.  Did pick up a few birds though.

#403 – Brandt’s Cormorant

IMG_4727

#404 – Heerman’s Gull

#405 – Western Gull

IMG_4729

I also pick up California Sea Lion and Harbor Seal as well as California Ground Squirrel.

IMG_4725 IMG_4731 IMG_4737

No panic attack here.  I’m good.  On to the campsite.

I intended to camp at San Onofre State Beach.  It’s a little farther north than I would have liked, but campsites in California are hard to come by.  Plus this site has showers.  I stunk by this point.

I got in just before the last light faded from the sky.  I was able to pick up a few more birds.

#406 – California Towhee

#407 – Wrentit

Not too bad of a day to pick up 8 bird species and four mammal species.

Leave a comment